Feelin’ the Blues! 4th of July Makeup Faves

Capture.PNG1

Blue makeup is my fave because it draws sooo much attention to the eyes! No matter your eye color or shape, a touch of deep blue brightens eyes and adds artsiness to your look!

Even if you’re a skeptic or a fan of more neutral looks, blue is perfect for the Fourth of July! I buy cheapy brands when I’m playing with funky colors — I like knowing I can test out a color and not feel bad if I never wear it again. I love Beauty Rush from Victoria’s Secret for silly beauty buys and funky colors, because I know the stuff is super cheap but also quality that won’t run / smear all over my face (eew to smeary makeup).

20140627-145231-53551919.jpg

If you’re new to colorful makeup…

Start slow by applying your makeup as you usually would. Trade out your traditional black mascara for a blue wand, and sha-BAM you are now very edgy / artsy / hipster. The trick is to use a DARK blue (none of that baby blue ish on your eyelashes please!!) &I promise you can barely even tell that it’s not black! The effect is noticeable only when you’re outside and rays of sunshine hit your lashes. It’s subtle but sooo pretty… I’ve gotten tons of compliments on days I didn’t even realize I was wearing the stuff!

If you have big eyes…

Try a metallic baby blue shadow (my favorite is Teal Fury from Lancome. I have the old version, photographed below!). The look is perfect for a sunny summer day like the Fourth, and will bring attention to your big beautiful eyes!! The super light, shimmery effect is fun & playful, making you appear dressed up and put together even if you’re wearing a simple outfit or bikini all day!

If you have small eyes…

Use a thick, shimmery blue liner. The glitter in the liner will make your eyes look bigger, while the blue will complement your eye color and make it appear brighter!

If you’re here to party…

It’s Fourth of July!! Go big or go home. Put the whole shebang together (blue shadow, eye liner, and mascara) for a winning look. The trick is to really emphasize one product and remain subtle with the others! I like to go big on the eye shadow by layering it all over my lid, up to the crease. I add a thin layer of liner right against my top lash line, and finish with a few waves of mascara. BAM. You’re done!

Check out some of my favorite products below:

20140627-141120-51080781.jpg

◊ Victoria’s Secret Chubby Eye Stick ◊

20140627-141118-51078752.jpg

◊ Victoria’s Secret Beauty Rush Mascara ◊

20140627-141116-51076833.jpg

 ◊ Lancome Eye Shadow Palette with Teal Fury ◊

 What are your favorite makeup products? How are you wearing your makeup for the Fourth!? Share with us below!

2 thoughts on “Feelin’ the Blues! 4th of July Makeup Faves

Leave a Reply

